Poem: Barista Boy


He works at the coffee counter
I love coffee
My mom says he looks like the guy who broke my heart
I’m like, “Uh-oh that’s not a good start” haha

Indifference turns into interest turns into a dare
I know I’m beautiful so I don’t care
I have a speech prepared
________________________
On a moment of impulse
I scribble my name and number on a little green post it
I order my coffee
I pay
He smiles
I smile
Joy, hope, and promise are in the air
I wait
He text me
I text him
He text me
I text him
I wait
I text him
I delete his number
I forget
I stop drinking his coffee
Then my mom comes back and says he lost weight

2 thoughts on “Poem: Barista Boy”

Leave a Reply

